Image

What really needs to be said here? Or rather, what hasn’t been said already? Amelie is a fun, charming film, and I watched it because I wanted something light and cheerful at the moment.

I have noticed a couple of things about this film over the years: One, this film is practically omnipresent when it comes to ladies’ DVD shelves. Even those who only six movies, own this one; which I confess is my goal in writing this new romantic comedy I’m working on right now. Also, when I ask someone if they like French cinema, the most common answer is “I like Amelie.” So apparently Amelie is such a delightful film, even those who don’t value it all that highly or seek it out on their own accord, consider it an essential film. Which I think says more about it than anything I might write about my reaction to its plot and characters and aesthetic.

